Part Time Jobs

Hey everyone,

Okay, so I am in a bit of a dilemma here. I want money, so I need a job. Everyone tells me that I need to get a job but I don’t think they actually understand how hard it is to get a job. It’s not just about finding a job either, it’s also about the anxiety that comes with it.

Retail will be the main example I will use. Customer service, talking to strangers, thinking I’m not good enough and will mess up everyday and be looked down upon/fired are common thoughts that come to mind. I am really not good in those types of situations as they flare up my social anxiety and make me really nervous. Don’t even get me started on being interviewed.

I need a job behind doors. One where I’ll probably only have to interact with a small number of the same people, but those do not really pop up in the ‘part time’ category. I can’t wait until I have my degree. I have been looking these past couple of days for jobs that would benefit/suit me but I can’t find them anywhere, especially in NZ.

The types of jobs that come to mind are photography jobs, articles in magazines, photos in magazines, paid blog writing, social media etc. If any of you have any ideas on how to enter those fields/jobs your help would be greatly appreciated. If any of you are looking for someone to fill those kind of job spaces, or even to guest write on your blog, I’m your girl.

Thanks for listening,

Colour Me Clueless xx

8 thoughts on “Part Time Jobs

  1. Re-freaking tweet, girl. Part time is the worst! I’ve worked retail part time, and there’s nothing worse than having someone the same age as you judge you for making a really stupid mistake. Even if you’re a people person, the training period is always the worst, and if someone is having a bad day and then they make you have a bad day, it’s frustrating to not always have complete control over the situation.
    Since you’re into photography, (and I’m assuming at university), have you reached out to people on campus who you could potentially take photos for? At my school a lot of students who like photography as a hobby post online about doing professional headshot and graduation photos for people. (maybe ask student organizations if they need someone to help document their events?) Even if it is something small, the experience and interaction in your network might even end up giving you contacts you never knew you would make! (Also I realize those initial interactions may cause some anxiety, but if you find a few key people to maybe help, it could ease any awkwardness.) Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I get you on this. I am currently unemployed. I’ve had a patchy life of illness that’s prevented me from working, and I am 52….so I am not exactly marketable. People say it’s easy to get, a job, I don’t think it is. And at your age, I think it’s important to stick to your guns and do something you enjoy, or experiment. Remember, you can always try out a job, and if you don’t like it, fire them. Wishing you the best 🙂 Harlon

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks so much for your reply! I have had a look online at possible opportunities but couldn’t seem to have any luck. I might have a look for that book, I love book suggestions so I appreciate that :) In regards to interests, I love both animals and photography, especially animal photography haha. I have entered a couple of photo contests but have had no luck, might try writing contests though, thanks for that idea! :) Thank you for taking your time to reply, especially such an informational reply, I appreciate it :)

    Like

  4. Do you have any good reference resources about what kinds of jobs are available generally for writer’s or photographers?

    If you haven’t seen the book 2017 Writer’s Market, it might be a good place to start.

    Another suggestion is to think about what interests you in life, which might be the subject of specialty publications (there are even magazines about writing, but in that case, you might have more competition than if you have some sport or other hobby you follow, and the publications about those things need a writer or a photographer (or else an article or a photo).

    From what I understand, one way to get known in those fields is to enter contests, which might not pay, but might get your work out there where more people can see it.

    You might also try doing informational interviews with people who already do (or have done) the kind of work you want to do, not to seek a job from them, but to learn what it takes to get into the field, and any other information or advice you’d be interested in.

    Anyway, Colour Me Clueless, I appreciate your following my blog. Thank you.

    And good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

